Membership Application / Renewal Form
Gifting / Donating
Members Roll of Arms
Heraldry Proficiency Program
Society Forums
AGM & Conference
Heraldry 4 Kids
Society Shoppe
Alta Studia Heraldica
RHSC's blog
RHSC Facebook
Canadian Heraldic Authority (CHA)

Arms & Badges - Arms of Past and Present Lieutenant Governors of Nunavut

British Columbia
New Brunswick
Prince Edward Island
Nova Scotia
Armorial of those Terrirorial Commissioners of Nunavut who bore lawfully Granted Arms from the Canadian Heraldic Authority

Coat of Arms of Nunavut
Click on the arms presented below to view a larger image of the same and its blazon if available. Click on their name to view their biographies.
  Comm. Edna Ekhivalak Elias
Ms. Elias’s home community is Kugluktuk, Nunavut, where she has served as both a councillor and the mayor. Throughout her long career, Ms. Elias has been dedicated to the promotion of Inuit culture. She oversaw the delivery of Aboriginal and Official Language services for the Government and Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, founded the Edmonton Inuit Cultural Society and owned and operated her own interpretation, translation and consulting business.
2010 -
  Comm. Ann Meekitjuk Hanson
Ann Meekitjuk Hanson was born May 22, 1946 on the island of Qakutut, outside Kimmirut, Nunavut. She spent the first 11 years of her life speaking only Inuktitut and living in Qakutut and Kimmirut. She attended schools in Iqaluit, Qamanituaq and Toronto. She studied community development at St. Xavier University and received a diploma with honours in journalism from Nunavut Arctic College. Mrs. Hanson has spent considerable time as a volunteer, helping to start a number of organizations in Iqaluit. These organizations include the Juvenile Court Committee, the Elders Group, the Inuit Cultural Group and the Quinuajuaq Society.
2005 - 2010
  Comm. Peter T. Irniq
Comm. Peter T. Irniq was the first Inuk to be made Assistant Regional Director for the Department of the Executive In the Keewatin Region, 1979-81. In August 1999, Mr. Irniq was seconded to the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut to set up the offices of the Official Languages, Access to Information and Conflict of Interest Commissioners.
2000 - 2005
  Comm. Helen Maksagak, CM
From 1992 to 1994, Mrs. Maksagak served as the Deputy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and later assumed the responsibilities of the Commissioner until 1999. Mrs. Maksagak was the first woman and first Inuk to hold these positions. In March 1999, Mrs. Maksagak was chosen to be the first Commissioner of the newly created Nunavut Territory, a position she held until April 2000.
1999 - 2000